Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I think my blog functions more accurately as a curation of recipes rather than as a showcase of faithful recipes developed over the years or as a display of culinary wit. My fickle-mindedness tends to collaborate with my itchy fingers manifesting in well over 300 pinned recipes on my ‘Austere Vegan Dinners’ board, where I slowly but self-gratifyingly select from my vast collection daily the recipe du jour.

Tandoori Grilled Broccoli and Cauliflower Kebabs
IMG_8430

But I used only cauliflower because I rarely have two crucifers at any one given time. Considering the success I had with baking cauliflower so far, it only makes sense that I be emboldened to try another baked recipe. This time, the preparation is even easier – no sauteing required, and the recipe uses an ingredient I’ve been warming up to recently – besan/chickpea flour. This recipes bakes up with a cheesy tartness from the lemon juice and has a mildly spiced flavor that develops during the roasting. Couple that with the delicious intensified sweet flavors the vegetables take on in the oven I just wished I had naans and a stew to complete my kebab meal.IMG_8425 IMG_8416

The recipe calls for yogurt and while can be easily subsituted with vegan yogurt, remains an option unavailable where I live, so for every 1/4 cup of yogurt I used 1 T cashews and 1 T grated coconut blended with 1-2 T water and a squeeze of lemon. It turned out absolutely great and I wished I’d included tomatos and onions as per the recipe to vary the tastes. I think mushrooms would also go well with this.

Veggie Belly’s Tandoori Grilled Broccoli and Cauliflower Kebabs

A head of Broccoli is meant to be eaten twice

Once for the a florets and once for the stem. I learnt this while reading a recipe for broccoli soup one day, which described itself somewhat cleverly as alleviating one from the need of thinking of what to do with the stem after consuming those florets.

I’d always thought broccoli dishes called for the entire head of broccoli so always sliced those stems into bite size pieces and cook the entire recipe, florets and all. I suppose separating them makes sense for a more visually appealing presentation, plus it is no biggie making two recipes out of one head. If anything, it stretches more use out of one vegetable so I am beginning to wind my head round this idea.

Cumin-Coriander Spiced Broccoli FloretsIMG_8377

Inspired or more like copied off some spiced baked sweet potato wedges I had recently, I made this by tempering equal amounts coriander and cumin seeds in a hot pan then tossing in the florets and letting cook covered for about 5 minutes.

It was a delicious and simple appetizer but upon hindsight this might’ve been better baked in the oven. Next time should I find myself time-strapped or out of ideas I will coat my florets with a some oil, toss to coat with the spices than bake at 200degC for about 20-25 minutes.

Broccoli Dal using Toor Dal

IMG_8396

I haven’t been feeling like soup recently, but talk about dal and I can have that any day and everyday. I have been using my stems to make this broccoli dal recently. What better way to hide the stems in a hodge podge of dal?
IMG_8392 IMG_8391

I made this delicious dal following Vegan Richa’s recipe for broccoli dal using toor dal instead as that was what I had on hand. This broccoli dal is spiced with garam masala and some whole spices. The second time I made this I made the mistake of not making a tarka, which I realise upon hindsight was really not optional for its roasted nutty taste and aroma. So in a bid to enhance the flavors a bit more, I added dried kasuri methi, about 2 tsp, and let simmer for a while and added lemon juice to perk flavors up.

The next day I reheated it with some tomato paste which helped intensify the flavors. Oh dal, thou art awesome and versatile, I know not what would I do without thee.

Vegan Richa’s Mung Bean and Lentil Stew with Broccoli and Sweet Mini Peppers
IMG_8390Now funny thing is, most people I know of tend to like one and hate the other which I find strange since cauliflower and broccoli look similar and taste similar in terms of developing a peculiar sulfurous smell upon accidental overcooking.

Wonder why is it people make such stark distinction between the two.

